Saying Farewell (for now)

One of the great things about traveling is meeting all kinds of wonderful people.  The hard part is having to say good-bye when the journey ends.

My journey at Nyaka ended yesterday, as I said my farewells to the students and teachers there.  It was a good day though.  I spent the entire morning  with P-1 and P-2 students while their older counterparts were taking exams.  I spent much of the afternoon sitting under the mango tree, enjoying the afternoon breeze with other teachers.

Today, I made the 8 hour bus ride back to Kampala.  It’s amazing to think about how quickly these last twelve weeks have gone.  I have two days here before I fly home on Monday evening.

As sad as it was to say farewell to everyone yesterday, I tried to remind myself that having the chance to meeting the wonderful students and teachers at Nyaka makes the pain and sadness of leaving worth it.  And hopefully this trip will not mark my last time at Nyaka.  I do hope to return because they have so many exciting things going on.  The Nyaka AIDS Foundation is truly doing its part to lift entire communities out of poverty, and I cannot wait to see what changes their future projects will bring.

So now, as I sit in this busy hostel in Kampala, I am missing the peace and quiet of the village.  On Monday morning, I’ll wake up the sounds of cars and boda-bodas here instead of children running up the driveway to school.

But, like I said, I’m so grateful for the opportunity to have experienced Nyaka and to have spent so much time there.  Many many thanks go out to all of the people at the Clinton School who make these summer service projects part of our curriculum.  I cannot think of a better way to learn about world issues that affect us all.

Also, thank you to Jackson Kaguri, whose vision and leadership made Nyaka possible.  And of course, I cannot express enough gratitude to the children and teachers at Nyaka.  Despite being thousands and thousands of miles away from my friends and family, I never felt alone while I was at Nyaka.  From the moment I set foot onto the school compound, I was welcomed into the Nyaka family, and for that I am eternally grateful.

Even though this is the end of this journey, I know that there will be more awaiting me in the future.  And I can only hope that one of them will bring me back to Uganda, up and down those bumpy roads, all the way to Nyaka.

More pictures and video to come once I get back to a better internet connection.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

