Good to be “home”

I arrived back in Nyakagyezi yesterday afternoon.  As wonderful as it was to spend the whole week in Kisiizi and up at Kutamba School, I have to say that I felt a special happiness when the van took the left hand turn off of the main road to head up to the village.  Before even reaching the school gate, I met Teacher Lydia along the road, and she warmly greeted me.  I saw one of my P-4 students as well, and she excitedly waved at the van as we passed her house (I told my students that I was leaving only for the week, but I have a feeling that some didn’t quite understand).  Teacher Hildah greeted me at the guesthouse with her kind smile and delicious cooking.  It felt good to be back.

Today, I went to a church service with members of the school’s Anti-AIDS club.  They performed several songs for the congregation.  Time and time again, I am so impressed with their composure and presence at they are performing.  Their voices and harmonies are beautiful.  I am so proud to even be remotely associated with them.  They are incredible children.  I’m working on putting together a video about Nyaka School, and their voices will be the soundtrack, so you can look forward to that soon!

After the service, we all enjoyed sodas, mandazis (small bread rolls), and fresh sugar cane.  On the walk back to school, I passed Teacher Lydia’s house, and she invited me in for some more goodies.  Sitting in Lydia’s house with her and her daughter, Comfort, made me feel so grateful to be a part of the community here.  She brought out pictures of her wedding, and I looked through them as Comfort wriggled her way onto my lap and pointed at “Mummy” and “Daddy” in the photos.  After leaving Teacher Lydia’s, I walked only a short distance down the road before I was called over to Mukaaka and Shwenkuru’s (Jackson’s parents) house.  Lydia helped translate for me as I told them about my trip to Kutamba and how happy I was to be back in the village.  Before I could leave, Shwenkuru (which means “grandfather” in Rukiga) gave me two fresh eggs to take home with me.  I thanked them in Rukiga, and they thanked me for thanking them.

And so, as I sit down to prepare myself for another week of school and classes at Nyaka, I am also taking some time to give thanks (to whoever or whatever is listening) for the wonderful people that I have met along this journey.  The simple gestures of the people here serve as constant reminders that respect and kindness can transcend all continental, racial, and socioeconomic barriers that too often stand in the way of relationships and friendships.  I can’t change the color of my skin to fit in, nor can I erase people’s notions of what “Americans” are like.  Here, though, I am still accepted and welcomed into people’s homes and into their lives, and that’s usually when the best learning takes place.  It feels good to be back at Nyaka.  I’m glad that I can still call it “home” for a few more weeks.

Leave a comment